8 Magic Players Named in Futsalroos!

Football_Federation_Australia_logo.svgThe club is proud to announce 8 Magic players have been selected in the provisional 25 man Futsalroo train on squad.

Magic PL stars Roberto Maiorana, Angelo Konstantinou, Daniel Fogarty, Chris Zeballos and Brian Griffin-colls have been selected as have Dean Lockhart in his second season at the club for F league while our two Melbourne signings, André Caro and Brenno Polatti who both had excellent Round 1 in the F league were also called in.

The clubs Senior squad continues to go from strength to strength since the hiring of leading AFC coach Steven Knight.

Knight continues to get the best out of our squad and his contribution can not be underestimated in the continued improvement of our players.

With the possibility of more players being brought into the squad depending on their performances in the F league, we can hope and expect with the talent within our squad for more call ups.

Congratulations to all the players on their initial selection.


Futsalroos Head Coach Rob Varela today named a provisional 25-player squad which will now begin an intense training program in the lead up to the FIFA Futsal World Cup which will be held in Colombia from 10 September – 1 October.

In identifying the 25 players, the Futsalroos coaching team of Rob Varela and Goalkeeping Coach Roger Cua have noted that players may be added to this provisional squad as a reflection their performance in the current F-League competition which kicked-off on the weekend.

The final Futsalroos squad of 14-players will be named at the end of August and will then depart for Colombia where for a pre-tournament training camp before they meet Mozambique, Brazil and the Ukraine in Group D of the competition.

“The squad is a mix of experienced, proven players at international level, players who are forging their way and some new faces who are will put pressure on the more established players,” Head Coach Rob Varela commented. “We will be looking closely at the first few rounds of F-League and there may be a few more names added later on.”

Varela also confirmed that he has formally stepped away from his usual coaching position as Dural Warriors Men’s Head Coach for the current F-League season to allow him to focus of the Futsalroos preparations which will include a more extensive scouting program on the F-League.

Of the provisional squad announced, seven players took part in the 2012 FIFA Futsal World Cup held in Thailand when the Futsalroos claimed an historic victory by defeating Mexico before being eliminated at the group stage.


Shervin ADELI (East Coast Heat)

Jonathan BARRIENTOS (VIC Vipers)

Miguel BARRIGOS (VIC Vipers)

Jarrod BASGER (Baku United, UK)

Andre CARO (Inner West Magic)

Adam COOPER (VIC Vipers)

Alistair DUNLOP (VIC Vipers)

Daniel FOGARTY (Inner West Magic)

Gregory GIOVENALI (Dural Warriors)

Wade GIOVENALI (Dural Warriors)

Brian GRIFFIN-COLLS (Inner West Magic)

Jordan GUERREIRO (East Coast Heat)

Glen KELSHAW (Dural Warriors)

Angelo KONSTANTINOU (Inner West Magic) – GK

Dean LOCKHART (Inner West Magic)

Grant LYNCH (East Coast Heat)

Roberto MAIORANA (Inner West Magic) – GK

Daine MERRIN (Dural Warriors)

Kieran PATES (VIC Vipers) – GK

Breno POLATTI (Inner West Magic)

Christopher POLKINGHORNE (Dural Warriors)

Blake ROSIER (Dural Warriors)

Tobias SEETO (Baku United, UK)

Peter SPATHIS (East Coast Heat) – GK

Christopher ZEBALLOS (East Coast Heat)